Island Alchemist – Chapter 7

Select a job. I was half excited and my other half of this thought it was just a prank.
Why? Such a thing, a job selection wouldn’t be possible if you think about it realistically! But the situation is already outside the norm. After all, there was a gigantic stone monument in this remote place. You can’t blame me for having some expectations.
However, in any case, if I do not select a job, nothing will happen.
So I decided to check the last candidate.

―――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――
Alchemist
You’re an alchemist. You have a little battle and production abilities. You’re a Jack of all trade, but master of none.
Wouldn’t it be nice to be alone? You can only use beginner magic.
―――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

Even so, why was the alchemist a special type rather than a production type … Well, the alchemist in games and manga are more like shop owners than producers.
However! It’s a job that is so convenient in terms of working solo.

After all, it can produce things and also have some self-defence abilities at the same time? Certainly, the power and complexity of the things that could be done are low compared to other specialization jobs, but being able to do anything is at a level that can compensate for it.

I don’t know if I can change jobs or set sub-jobs in the future.
And I have no intention of increasing my friends. Then … I have to do everything by myself.

“That’s why I should choose alchemist here, but I also want to be a summoner or a tamer.”

However, if it is a summoner, I won’t be able to produce anything. Although a tamer can make a tamed monster do this or that, it’s hard to tame monsters. I feel like collecting mofumofu, though! Let’s give top priority to surviving here.

I selected Alchemist

“Do you want to be an alchemist?” popped up on the screen, I tapped “YES”.
Then, the smartphone suddenly started to shine, it floated in the air again. And then something like a cord came out of the smartphone floating in the air.

“What!? Is the smartphone rebelling !?”

The smartphone wrapped the cord around my left arm and began to tighten the cord around my arm.

“Hey!? It hurts, it hurts !!”

I grabbed the cord with my right hand and tried to tear it off, but the chord was quite sturdy.

The chord that is squeezing me, and me trying to tear it off. How much time has passed in this offense and defense? I feel like it was only an unexpected few minutes though.
However, it seems that the smartphone was not attacking me … As soon as the work was completed, the cord was stored in the smartphone … Where on earth did the cord go?

“What was that …”

Looking at my left hand, there was a slight trace of the cord tightening around my arm… This is kind of embarrassing.
However, it doesn’t mean that the marks are patterned, it just seems to have been tightened …

“Pip. The job settings are complete. Please check the details ”

What was that? A voice came from my smartphone.
Apparently, it finished the job selection by tightening a cord on my arm. I checked my smartphone while feeling a little angry about why they had to do that.

―――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――
It’s status!
Job: Alchemist: Lv1

Skills:
Alchemy (Beginner)
Appraisal (Beginner)
Magic (all attributes / Beginner)

Postscript
Did you think there was HP, MP, or power? Sorry! There wasn’t!!!
The reason is that an idiot who relies on numbers, become a number believer and does stupid things.
To survive, it is better not to look at the numbers alone. Make good use of your skills ♪
―――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

You’re telling me to not rely on stats and numbers, but there is a level after the job title though?
No, it’s true that Japanese people tend to be numerical believers … But I still think that it is better to show the minimum level and stuff.
Well, I guess the system focuses more on player skills?

…… Who is the one who makes this app?
It’s considerate in weird places, and there’s a severe lack of explanation. Moreover, its sentences feel like it’s taunting me.

Looking overhead, the sun is starting to set … I’ll have to decide whether to return to the base now or to build a campsite here.

“Hmm … but I don’t know what kind of creatures might be around here. It’s better to make a trip back.”

It might just be a coincidence that there was no one there last night. I suddenly thought of something.

“If there is magic, can I cut this cliff and make it into a cave?”

Thinking so … How do I use magic?
For the time being, I check it out on my smartphone! I look up the magic section from the status column.

――――――――
Magic:
Fire magic: Fire Lv1
Water magic: Water Lv1
Wind magic: Wind Lv1
Earth magic: Rock Lv1
――――――――

……e? Is there only this? Isn’t there something more?
There is only one for each attribute, and there are only four attributes? But when a checked the magic jobs before they had things like recovery magic or light magic.
Is this the situation where my level is not enough or the skill level is not enough?

“The cave excavation plan is on hold for now I guess.”

After all, for the time being, it seems good to live at the seaside base.
It would be better to raise the level of magic while making various things and expand the range of activities from there.

However, when this happens, I am a little worried about whether I made the correct job selection.

“Cannot switch jobs …?”

It seems that it is not possible to change the job once it is set.
But! I only checked magic. For the time being, let’s go back to the base and try alchemy.
Maybe its production aspect is disappointing too, but … I can’t switch from what I’ve chosen. I have no choice but to improvise.

At least let the appraisal skill tell me about the different plants and what not to eat.
Hopefully, the ability is not too disappointing.

One thought on “Island Alchemist – Chapter 7

Leave a comment